The cost of cool…

Posted: November 8, 2010 in Devotional Thoughts

It is amazing how things change. I remember the days when I used to be a big loser (you may be asking, “Hey, I thought this story was about change?”). I was shy and awkward, and usually on the outside looking in. But over time, things started to transform…

I really discovered music when I was 14 after I traded in the clarinet for the drums. I caught the bug and music became a major part of my identity. I also updated my image (thanks to the wonder of Hawaiian shirts and hair gel!) and began to make more friends, soon blossoming into somewhat of a socialite. Gone were the days of humiliation! Or were they?

My wake up call came while I was spending the day with my buddy Travis. We cruised around town, and everywhere we went people seemed to know us! As we were about to pull out of a parking lot, I noticed a pretty girl looking my way. “This day just keeps getting better!” I thought. She waved at me, flashing a big smile and I smoothly smiled back and waved back. Her smile grew and, to my glory, she started walking towards the car.

“Travis, check this out” I smirked excitedly. I rolled down the window and stuck my head out to greet her when I noticed something: Her eyes were not on me. She proceeded to walk right up to my window…and into the embrace of her boyfriend. Yes, the boyfriend who had been just out of my sightline the entire time. With burning embarrassment I urged Travis to drive away as I tried to avoid eye contact with the reunited couple inches from my window, but he was too busy laughing to drive anywhere.

It became pretty obvious to me that day the futility of popularity. I realized I really wasn’t as big a deal as I thought. At what cost had I achieved my new status? What was it worth in the end? I am reminded of a man in the Bible who did not fit in with the crowd. In fact, there were none like him on the entire earth! Most people think of Noah and the Ark he built, but I connect Noah with something else: He knew God and God knew him. The world had become so wicked that God could find no reason to keep humanity alive…except Noah. Genesis 6:8-9 says, “But Noah found grace in the eyes of the Lord…Noah was a just man, perfect in his generations. Noah walked with God.” Wow, Noah had his priorities straight. If given the choice between fitting in with the crowd or walking with God, I know the wiser choice. However, 99% of the time I seek approval of others in my life rather than God. In the end, what is more important? I have come to realize there is one relationship that is worth far more than any other, but tragically, it is the one most neglected.

Comments
  1. Travis Mandle says:

    Just reading through some of your blogs, we had a fun childhood sir. I remember the first day I met the quiet, mushroom cut Mike… I think we just sat together playing N64 for a few hours before you even said more then a few words. I have so many good memories of hanging with you, JP, Jason, Dan and Patrick. And I must say, we all looked pretty sexy in our Hawaiian shirts! Especially while we banged away on that crappy electric drum set.

    PS – you forgot to mention the blonde hair dye.

    Keep doing what you doing man…looks like you are making a big difference in a lot of peoples lives.

    Your Friend
    Trav

Leave a Reply

