Go for a walk…

Posted: December 4, 2010 in Devotional Thoughts

I just got back from walking my dog Chevy. I don’t get to do it very often, for two reasons: 1) I don’t live with my parents (and he does) and 2) I don’t have the patience. He can be very frustrating! Chevy is getting up there in age now (10 years old), and is not quite the dog he used to be. He is missing an eye (long story) which makes his depth perception wacky, he has a slight limp in his back leg, and he pants a little harder now going up those hills. But one thing certainly hasn’t changed: His curiosity.

Not content to simply go for a leisurely stroll, Chevy insists on sniffing every bush, “marking” every leaf, and growling at every living organism. The only thing he seems to not want to do is walk! As we came around that last corner today (both of us breathing pretty hard) I thought of something. You know what the most beneficial part of that walk was for Chevy? It wasn’t the barking (although he enjoyed that), it wasn’t the peeing (although he seemed to enjoy that too), and it wasn’t the sniffing; It was the walking. The exercise will help him more than all the other “side benefits” combined! Isn’t it funny how the one thing that was best for him was the activity he cared the least about?

I think it is often similar for me as I walk through life. I am a task-driven person who sets my sights on one thing and lets that consume my thoughts. I move from one activity to another, barely wrapping up the last before I begin the next. My brother Dan one time, after watching me destroy a hamburger in 3 bites and 2.48 seconds, blurted, “Mike…enjoy the journey!”

Isn’t that true for all of us? Micah 6:8 says, “He has told men what is good and what it is the Lord requires of you: Only to act justly, to love faithfulness, and to walk humbly with your God.” Walk. Not run ahead, not stray off the path, not lag behind, but simply to walk. Let us not get so distracted by our curiosity of everything around us that we forget it is the actual walking with God that will do us the most benefit. Sometimes getting there is just as important as the final destination.

Leave a Reply

