Bugs (and why they give me nightmares)

Posted: April 11, 2011 in Devotional Thoughts

I hate bugs. Always have, always will. In fact, if you have eight legs or wear your skeleton on the outside, chances are I will whack you with a shoe (or at least find someone braver than I to do it for me).

So you can imagine my horror the other day when I finished having a shower and pulled back the curtain to reveal a giant bug sitting on the floor just outside my shower. I may or may not have shrieked like a 5-year-old girl.

Flinging myself into the air, I managed to leap to my bedroom without touching the bathroom floor and frantically begin scanning my room in search of a weapon to dispose of the hideous intruder. Seizing my oldest and least-likely-to-ever-be-worn-again shoe, I crept back into the bathroom and proceeded to beat the bug approximately 418 times.

But then I had a new problem. How would I dispose of the body? I certainly did not want to get too close, even if it was now little more than a flattened carcass! So I plugged in my vacuum cleaner and sucked the little guy in to join the other unfortunates to have attempted to become my roommate (my vacuum cleaner is a veritable bug graveyard, and the thought of opening it up to empty the contents sends shivers down my spine!).

This emotionally scarring encounter put me in mind of Leviticus 11:41 “All the creatures that swarm on the earth are detestable…” I am just glad I don’t believe in reincarnation, because the thought of possibly coming back as a bug and living among them just might keep me from getting any sleep tonight!

It’s funny how we can get consumed by such small things. In my attempt to smite my 6-legged enemy, I was running around my apartment “sans towel.” Had someone walked past my window, I would have lost my dignity (and my job!)! But when we put our focus on something, our eyes become fixed and we are often oblivious to everything else.

The writer of Hebrews wrote, “Therefore, since we also have such a large crowd of witnesses surrounding us, let us lay aside every weight and the sin that so easily ensnares us, and run with endurance the race that lies before us, keeping our eyes on Jesus, the source and perfecter of our faith…” It is easy to be sidetracked by the little things in life. Perhaps someone makes a hurtful comment to you, and you allow it to steal your joy; or the music/message at church wasn’t to your liking, so you skip the next Sunday; or you get upset because you feel ignored in your group of friends, but you don’t even notice the quiet guy who feels the same way.

What are the little distractions in your life? Don’t let them pull your eyes away from Jesus because, in the end, the little things really are just that: little things. Set your eyes on what really matters.

Comments
  1. Lynn says:

    Great blog, Mike! Smite away!

    • Karen Rayner says:

      I guess laying aside your towel to run the race is part of the plan, besides I have heard that people run races in the buff all the time! Can’t back that up but I thought of it when I read your blog. Miss you

Leave a Reply

