Seeking Wisdom

Posted: August 22, 2011 in Video Clips

We all come to crossroads where we are one move away from a bad decision. It is at these times we desperately need someone to step in and give us what we are lacking: Wisdom. Sadly, wisdom is one thing that is missing in the lives of many Christians. Why? Probably because we don’t seek it. We just assume that wisdom will be gained through life experience along with wrinkles and grey hair! So we charge ahead making mistakes and justifying them by saying  “I have to learn by making mistakes!” Really? You can learn from making mistakes, but I hope you don’t learn by making them. What an incredibly irresponsible way to live! How many people say “Now that I wrapped my car around a street lamp and killed my best friend, I can finally know that drinking and driving is stupid”? Is your life filled with guilt? Do you keep making foolish mistakes that add to the regret in your past?

“My son, if you accept my words and store up my commands within you, listening closely to wisdom and directing your heart to understanding; furthermore, if you call out to insight and lift your voice to understanding, if you seek it like silver and search for it like hidden treasure, then you will understand the fear of the Lord and discover the knowledge of God. For God gives wisdom; from His mouth come knowledge and understanding.”

If I want to be wise, I must seek the One who gives wisdom. Look at how many action words there are in these few verses: “Accept,” “Store Up,” “Listen,” “Direct Your Heart,” “Call Out,” “Lift Your Voice,” Seek,” “Search.” I guess wisdom doesn’t just come naturally! It is an active pursuit. Am I pursuing it? If I’m not, then I’m in for a long road of guilt and regret. What will I do the next time I come to a crossroads in my life? Will I follow my own wisdom, or will I follow the wisdom of the One who offers it to me freely?

Leave a Reply

