“When the Pupil is ready, the Master will Appear…”

Posted: December 26, 2011 in Video Clips

In this clip there is a great line: “When the pupil is ready, the master will appear.” When we are spiritually born again into the family of God, we are just baby Christians. And, like babies, we are ignorant but anxious to learn (even if it means walking into a few coffee tables!).

God found us hopelessly lost; an empty shell of what we could be, our own best efforts leading only to our death. But then He saved us and made us something new. We have a purpose now! But we still have so far to go and so much to learn. I have come to find that the Bible is what God uses to teach us. It takes a new Christian who is woefully unprepared to live the Christian life and begins to train him or her to be more like Jesus.

It’s actually a lot like exercising. Over this Christmas break, my sister has taken upon herself the enormous task of whipping her “post-graduation-hasn’t-been-good-to-me” older brother into shape (bless her soul). What we found the first day (apart from excruciating shin splints) was that growing requires consistency. One day of running is just not enough to see growth. However, the more time you spend with your trainer the more you will start to see changes.

So I have to ask myself, How much time do I spend with God in my Bible? What results do I see after years of being a Christian? I can’t expect to be spiritually fit if I neglect to spend time with my teacher. As busy as life can get sometimes, it is vitally important I carve out time to read and study my Bible. If I want to grow, I must train, and if I want to train, I must spend time with my Trainer.

“All Scripture is inspired by God and is profitable for teaching, for rebuking, for correcting, for training in righteousness, so that the man of God may be complete, equipped for every good work.”   2 Timothy 3:16-17

Leave a Reply

