A Friendly Reminder

Posted: August 16, 2013 in Uncategorized

Wow, it has been forever since I’ve posted a blog! Many of the thoughts I might have written have actually been going into a book I am currently writing with my father and uncle (called “Discovering God: A Conversation about Faith, Truth, and Stuff that Really Matters”). However, a recent experience seemed like the perfect story to share. So here it is…

Do you ever get to times in life where you just need a little reminder that God cares and that He is watching out for you? Although I think God is constantly at work in and around our lives, we often miss it. However, every now and then we get a clear message that says “Don’t worry, I’m looking out for you.”

Ever since our wedding in June, Sarah and I have tried to be as “cost-conscious” as we can (apparently weddings aren’t cheap!). When several dishes arrived in the mail from Macy’s, we discovered they had broken in the shipping process. A couple weeks ago, we finally got around to taking them back to the store in order to exchange them for non-broken ones (those dishes always seem to work so much better!). We also grabbed a $50 Macy’s gift card we had been given, so that Sarah could get a back-to-school outfit for her first day back (she teaches 5th grad math, I guess opposites really do attract!).

When we got there, the process involved returning the dishes and getting a full refund put on a gift card. Then, we would just re-purchase replacement dishes with that card. However, because of the back-to-school weekend sales they were having, everything in the store was 20% off, and so the customer service lady graciously gave us the discount. This meant that when we bought our dishes back, we ended up with $12.62 still on our card. On to the dress section!

As I sat in the waiting area, letting Sarah try on her selection of dresses, me and another tag-along kept blissful silence between us as we engaged in man’s best friend: the iphone. Occasionally, his girlfriend would come out and model some clothing, to which he would say, “Looks good baby.” Then Sarah would come out and model a dress, to which I would reply “I like it, let’s go.” Eventually, she narrowed it down to “The One” (a title I had previously reserved for myself!) and we went to pay (I’m not sure when the other guy finally got to leave!).

Now, Sarah has the spiritual gift of “frugality.” She saves money better than anyone I have ever met (which is good, because I spend money about as fast as she saves it!). She had shopped around to find the dress she really wanted, and once all the discounts had been put into place (including a coupon she had on her phone), the dress came out really cheap! “Oh wait,” said the clerk, “let me put in the 20% store-wide discount. That brings your total to…$12.62.” Sarah and I just laughed. She looked down at the $50 gift card, and then to me. “On to the shoes!” Needless to say, we came out of there with a dress and shoes, and still about $3 on our gift card. God provides for your needs, and we really needed that confirmation.

A few days later…

“Our new dishes came…but some of them are broken again.” Sarah informed me, before her eyes lit up. Looks like we’ll have to make another trip to Macy’s, who knows what might happen this time?

Let this encourage you that if you put your time and energy into serving God and being obedient to everything He has called you to do, He will look out for your needs. I’m not saying He’ll make you rich and famous, but He will provide for your needs. Sometimes I forget that, and it’s nice to get a friendly reminder.

Comments
  1. Phyllis Lincer says:

    How great is our God!

Leave a Reply

